nummer vier: a taste of visuality (2016)

Films and texts are not alike. Nevertheless, there is a filmic practice formulating its own discursivity: research on images. Or: to research on images, one has to work with them. Essayistic techniques such as assemblage (Farocki) and genealogy (Anderson) as well as their according formats of experimental ethnography (Lucien Castaing-Taylor) are our decisive role models.
nummer_vier is organised as a network system: 16 public screenings, 2 film makers, 1 seminar. For 5 months we have rented a space on the Bahnhofstrasse in Witten in order to transform it into a research center for visuality. The public screenings are accompanied by a biweekly seminar, in which essayistic and ethnographic approaches will be discussed with the philosopher Christian Grüny. In addition, the two filmmakers, Louis Henderson (London) and Kerstin Schrödinger (Zurich) will present their work and elaborate new film projects with the participants.
The screenings every Tuesday at 8pm in the Bahnhofstrasse 48. For updates see:
www.facebook.com/superfilme.production
This project has been made possible through the generous funding of the der Individual Artistfunding (IKF) of the Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jungend, Kultur und Sport NRW and the European Center for Creative Economy.

nummer vier: a taste of visuality (2016)

Filme sind keine Texte. Trotzdem gibt es eine filmische Praxis, die sich ihre eigene Diskursivität schreibt: Forschung an Bildern. Anders gesagt: Um an Bildern zu forschen, muss man mit ihnen arbeiten. Sowohl essayistische Techniken wie die Assemblage (Harun Farocki) und die Genealogie (Thom Anderson) als auch die damit verflochtenen Formate der experimentellen Ethnografie (Lucien Castaing-Taylor) sind hier entscheidende Vorbilder.
nummer_vier ist organisiert als Verbundsystem: 16 öffentlichen Screenings, 2 Filmemacher_innen, 1 Seminar. Für 5 Monate haben wir in der Bahnhofstrasse in Witten einen Raum gemietet, um an Bildern zu forschen. Die öffentlichen Screenings werden von einem zweiwöchentlichen Seminar begleitet, in dem mit dem Philosophen Christian Grüny essayistische und ethnografische Ansätze des Filmischen besprochen werden. Die Filmemacher_innen Louis Henderson (London) und Kerstin Schroedinger (Zürich) präsentieren ihre eigenen Arbeiten und erarbeiten mit den Teilnehmenden neue Filmprojekte.
Die Screenings finden jeden Dienstag um 20 Uhr bei uns in der Bahnhofstrasse 48 statt. Für Updates:
www.facebook.com/superfilme.production
Dieses Projekt wurde ermöglicht durch die großzügige Förderung der Individuellen Künstlerförderung (IKF) des Ministeriums für Familie, Kinder, Jungend, Kultur und Sport NRW sowie des European Center for Creative Economy.