Cinema and the absurde (2014)

Establishing structures: In winter 14/15 super filme conceptualized a constant series in cooperation with the Kulturforum Witten. On the one hand we tried to converge the academic life with the most important cultural institution in Witten. On the other hand we wanted to call for attention via the network of an institution – dispersing our approach of urbanist cinema.
Against the clichée: We put Camus’ structuring framing in relation to absurd cinema: “At any street corner the feeling of absurdity can strike any man in the face.” Overcoming viewing habits, letting expectations down, creating opacity – but also causing moments of absurd wit. The absurd does not pretend to be distant or abstract. It is close in spite of allowing distance. It generates an experience of being involved though introducing a critical position at the same time. Pushing open a gap for the completely different.
We recommend the following movies as different approaches to a critical approximation absurdity: Andersson’s Songs from the second floor (2002), Buñuel’s Das Gespenst der Freiheit (1975), Godard’s Une femme est une femme (1961) und Kubrick’s A Clockwork Orange (1971).

Kino und das Absurde (2014)

Strukturen etablieren: In Kooperation mit dem Kulturforum Witten hat super filme im Winter 14/15 eine feste Reihe konzipiert, die das Haus Witten Kino an vier Donnerstagen bespielt. Zum einen versuchten wir das universitäre Leben stärker an das der wichtigsten Kulturinstitution Wittens zu binden. Über das Netzwerk einer Institution wiederum konnten wir auf uns aufmerksam machen, dafür sorgen, dass man uns neu entdeckt.
Wider dem Klischee: Camus‘ strukturierende Rahmung haben wir in Spannung gesetzt zu absurdem Kino: „At any street corner the feeling of absurdity can strike any man in the face.“ Mit Sehgewohnheiten brechen, Erwartungen ins Leere laufen lassen, Opazität erzeugen – aber auch für Momente absurdester Komik sorgen. Das Absurde behauptet nicht, fern zu sein und abstrakt. Es kommt nah und ermöglicht doch Differenz. Sich selbst als involviert erleben und gleichzeitig eine kritische Position eröffnen. Einen Spalt aufstoßen fürs absolut Andere.
Die folgenden Filme schlagen wir vor als Versuche einer kritischen Annäherung an das Absurde: Anderssons Songs from the second floor (2002), Buñuels Das Gespenst der Freiheit (1975), Godards Une femme est une femme (1961) und Kubricks A Clockwork Orange (1971).