_Primetime discourse # 1: The mute language of things with John Siegmund

For the launch of Primetime discourse former student of University of Witten / Herdecke Johannes Siegmund returned for the first time back to the formative place his 20s. He arrived with the following considerations:

“Three slights huddled things at the margins of modernity: they were mass-reproduced, discarded on a large scale and immaterialized by the communications media. But things get back to an eerie kind: Fossil fuels, antibiotics, plastic. If the human answers to the problems, which makes the eerie second life of things fair? What would a modern and adequate concept of the thing? The workshop asks for the thing as Assemblage, Hyper object, assembly and after his Agency. ”

Tags: New Materialism, Object Oriented Ontology, media theory, ecology, Bruno Latour, Karen Barad, Jane Bennett, Skaling, smartness.

Johannes Siegmund studied Philosophy and Culture in Witten and Critical Studies in Vienna. He writes his PhD with the working title “Philosophy of flight” and is part of the collective philosophy unbound.

https://lieberweltgeist.wordpress.com

_PrimeTime Diskurs #1: Die Stumme Sprache der Dinge mit Johannes Siegmund

Für den Auftakt des PrimeTime Diskurs kehrte der ehemaliger Student der Uni Witten/Herdecke Johannes Siegmund erstmals zurück an den prägenden Ort seiner 20er. Dafür brachte er folgende Überlegungen mit:

„Drei Kränkungen drängten die Dinge an die Ränder der Moderne: Sie wurden massenhaft reproduziert, im großen Stile weggeworfen und von den Kommunikationsmedien immaterialisiert. Doch die Dinge kommen auf eine unheimliche Art zurück: Fossile Brennstoffe, Antibiotika, Plastik. Werden die menschlichen Antworten den Problemen, die das unheimliche zweite Leben der Dinge macht, gerecht? Was wäre ein zeitgemäßer und angemessener Begriff des Dings? Der Workshop fragt nach dem Ding als Assemblage, Hyperobjekt, Versammlung und nach seiner Agency.“

Tags: New Materialism, Object Oriented Ontology, Medientheorie, Ökologie, Bruno Latour, Karen Barad, Jane Bennett, Skaling, Smartness.

Johannes Siegmund hat Philosophie und Kulturreflexion in Witten und Critical Studies in Wien studiert. Er schreibt an einer Promotion mit dem Arbeitstitel „Philosophie der Flucht“ und ist Teil des Kollektivs philosophy unbound.

https://lieberweltgeist.wordpress.com