_Ogino Knauss – Re:centering Periphery

Traces of long faded social utopias can be found in concrete of todays cities. We think that’s exciting because: These traces also directly ask the question of how „life of tomorrow“ can be organized.

The architecture and urbanist collective Ogino Knauss attended the Television space with the exhibition “Marginal Notes” in the framework of their project “Re.centering Periphery”. For this they studied, among others, urban peripheries in Cuba, Moscow and Berlin that can be seen as a side effect of modernist ideologies. Ogino Knauss was founded in Florence in 1995  and moves between art, research and activism. The formats produced in this interdisciplinary field range from documentaries, photo exhibitions to installations, public art and workshops. With their pictures  and videos in „Marginal Notes“ they trace built and social landscapes of urban peripheries. Part of the exhibition is the screening of the films “Doble Forza” and “Dom Byta Novogo”, which deal with the situation in Havana and Moscow.

www.oginoknauss.org/blog

www.vimeo.com/oginoknauss

Urban School Ruhr

As part of the Urban Landscapes series, we also cooperated with the Urban School Ruhr. The open Academy deals with the present and future of the Ruhr area and makes use of different formats such as excursions, on-site workshops, as-if installations and Assembly Meetings. Some seminars were held in Television Space.

_Ogino Knauss – Re:centering Periphery

Im Beton heutiger Städte finden sich Spuren längst verblasster gesellschaftlicher Utopien. Das finden wird spannend, denn: Sie stellen auch unmittelbar die Frage, wie ,Leben‘ von Morgen organisiert werden soll.

Das Architektur und Urbanistik Kollektiv Ogino Knauss besuchte den Television Space mit der Ausstellung „Marginal Notes“ im Rahmen ihres Projektes „Re:centering Periphery“. Dafür untersuchten sie u.A. in Kuba, Moskau und Berlin städtische Peripherien, die als Begleiterscheinung modernistischer Ideologien gesehen werden können. Das 1995 in Florenz gegründete Kollektiv Ogino Knauss bewegt sich zwischen Kunst, Forschung und Aktivismus. Die in diesem interdisziplinären Feld produzierten Formate reichen von Dokumentarfilmen, Foto-Ausstellungen bis zu Installationen, öffentlicher Kunst und Workshops. Mit dem Projekt Re:centering Periphery ist Ogino Knauss seit 2006 auf Forschungsreisedurch globale städtische Peripherien.  Mit ihren Bildern und Videos spüren sie gebauten und sozialen Landschaften urbaner Peripherien nach. Teil der Ausstellung ist das Screening der Filme „Doble Forza“ und „Dom Novogo Byta“, welche sich mit der Situation in Havanna und Moskau beschäftigen.

www.oginoknauss.org/blog
www.vimeo.com/oginoknauss

Urban School Ruhr

Im Rahmen der Urban Landscapes Reihe kooperierten wir zudem mit der Urban School Ruhr. Die offene Akademie beschäftigt sich mit der Gegenwart und Zukunft des Ruhrgebietes und nutzt dazu unterschiedlichste Formate wie Exkursionen, Vor-Ort-Workshops, Als-Ob-Installationen und Versammlungs-Seminare. Einige Seminare fanden im Television Space statt.